Book Review: What Happens When Women Pray

Even though He Himself was God incarnate, He thought it necessary to withdraw to a mountain to pray all night . . . If He, why not us?

pg 82

What Happens When Women Pray by Evelyn Christenson is an older book, originally published in 1975. But the principles and truths contained within this book are timeless.

Something I struggle with is my prayer life. It’s getting better, but I know it’s something I need to work on. Every Christian says, when asked what is needed for a healthy walk with Christ, “Prayer and Bible-reading.” I’ve said it a million times. But I realized recently that even though I know that prayer is important, it has been severely lacking in my life. This is the first of several books I plan to read about prayer this year.

I appreciate the scripture references and personal stories Evelyn shared in this book about the importance and effectiveness of prayer. She wrote both HOW and WHY we should pray. The spiritual preparation and physical preparation are both important.

Evelyn had been passionate about prayer for decades. Before going home to meet Jesus in 2011, she traveled frequently to speak at conferences and meetings specifically for women about prayer. In What Happens When Women Pray, there is no shortage of examples where she has personally witnessed the power of prayer, as well as stories others have shared with her about the difference prayer made in their church, life, or someone else’s life.

One of my favorite thoughts from the book is that we should bring our requests to God – not our answers. Ouch! What a tremendous reminder. So often when I pray, I’m just giving God the answers I want or think I need. But my heart should truly be to bring my request or need, and be ready for His will and His timing.

Another great truth was that prayer almost automatically leads to evangelism. When our prayer life is healthy and thriving and we are walking with God, praying without ceasing, we cannot help but share the good news of our Savior Who hears us and answers our prayers!

I really enjoyed this book and am thankful for how it opened my eyes to many truths about communing in prayer with my Heavenly Father, Who is ready to hear my requests.

What happens when we pray? Things do happen. We do not drop our intercessory prayers into a bottomless barrel. We send them up to a Heavenly Father, Who in His time, in His way, according to His will, answers them down here on planet earth.

pg 106

Leave a comment