Audiobook Review: Real Food for Pregnancy

Real Food for Pregnancy by Lily Nichols, RDN was my first audiobook! And I have to say. . .

I don’t think I like audiobooks.

That being said, I already started another one and I’m enjoying it more than I enjoyed Real Food for Pregnancy as an audiobook. So I think that audiobooks aren’t for everyone, and definitely not for every book.

That being said, I fully enjoyed this book. While God hasn’t given us a tiny bean yet, I am trying to learn as much as I can to be as informed as I can before little one comes along. Real Food for Pregnancy is full of information that so many people either ignore or are unaware of. Lily’s writing style is straightforward and well-researched. RFFP is really a follow-up book after her well-known book, Real Food for Gestational Diabetes. Doctors and pregnant mommas loved her first book but wanted something that would be for everyone, so Lily compiled information that would be a help to even more people. Lily discusses not just what foods are best for your pregnancy and how they impact you and your baby, but also nutrients, toxins, and lifestyle choices.

One of the reasons I would love to have a physical copy of the book is because she includes many helpful charts and lists that would be nice to see in front of me. I am physical reader: I mark up books, make notes, highlight, and underline. This is really the only reason I don’t prefer audiobooks. I like the convenience of being able to listen while I drive, cook, or fold laundry. I think part of the problem for me though, is that I feel guilty for listening to music when I “should” be listening to a book.

But enough about the fact that it was an audiobook. The book itself is phenomenal. I’ve been recommending it to all my female friends in the same stage of life as me — whether not pregnant yet, pregnant right now, or recently given birth. Lily is well-studied and an excellent communicator.

One of my biggest takeaways is that we have to be our own advocate. As much as I would love to believe that every doctor and nurse practitioner has my best interest in mind, every woman is different. What works for the patient they see before me may not work for my body. It’s up to me to be informed, stand up for myself, and make the decision that is best for me and my future little one.

I hope that if you are in a similar season right now, you will take the time to research all your options and wisely consider how to have the best possible pregnancy, delivery, and recovery for you and your baby.

One thought on “Audiobook Review: Real Food for Pregnancy

Leave a comment